What Shall I Write About?

When I was in graduate school working on my Ph.D. I was not a youngster. I had 20 years of teaching experience and twice that much and more life experience. I didn’t have a hard time picking a dissertation topic, I had a hard time narrowing a topic down so that I could graduate and move on with my life. A fellow graduate student counseled me by saying something like, “Think of all you have to say and then imagine a drill going through the middle of it.  Write what comes out of the hole.”

That same feeling is with me as I begin my blog.  What part shall I write about?  What do I think is important enough to commit to “paper?”  I’ve been thinking about writing a blog for a number of years.  I discovered blogs when I was ill.  During the worst part of my illness, I was confined to my home for long stretches of time.  I’m not a television watcher and I missed having regular interactions with thinking people.  I think the first blog I read was The Geezer Sisters by Ruth Pennebacker (www.geezersisters.com).  I had read Ruth’s excellent essay about breast cancer and pink do-dads in the Austin American Statesman.  I looked up her blog and then used her list of other bloggers to explore.

On my computer desktop, I have a number of blogs that I follow.  A new post is like a letter from a friend. I’ve discovered that it is possible to build a wonderful community among folks you would never have an opportunity to meet elsewhere.  What I’ve also discovered is there are not many blogs for women in my demographic.  I’m a divorced, forty-nineteen year old, childless by choice woman.  I am retired because of my illness, not my choice.  I have lived a very interesting (to me) life filled with lots of atypical choices for a southern woman. My blog heroes keep encouraging us to tell our stories.  So, I’m going to tell mine.  If you find you want to share your stories, I’ll be glad to listen.  I love good stories.

I’m liberal, opinionated, a calculated risk taker, and a dog lover.  I’ve called the blog Views from the Dog Park because I found that all sorts of social issues are played out in a dog park.  Also, because my dog park in Austin became a place where I could walk and think and contemplate the news and issues taking place outside the park.

Leave a Reply

